Poli.V

Social Commentary, Activism, Humanism

Has World War Three begun already? July 18, 2016

http://www.telesurtv.net/english/opinion/A-World-War-Has-Begun-Break-the-Silence-20160322-0022.html

I just read this article by John Pilger, a trifle depressing but he’s made some strong points.

Something has not been right in the world for a while now, something I struggle to put my finger on. John Pilger touches on a few reason’s why this may be.

Have a read and let me know what you think?

This is an edited version of an address by John Pilger at the University of Sydney, entitled “A World War Has Begun.”

 

8 Responses to “Has World War Three begun already?”

  1. auntyuta Says:

    In March this year I came across an article by John Pilger and actually reblogged it on auntyuta. This is what I wrote in a comment:

    ‘ . . . I am glad that due to modern technology I can keep myself informed about what is going on in the world. Due to age-related disabilities I cannot read as much as I would like. However, the way I see it is, that the nuclear threat is getting more and more real for mankind.’

    This is where I read John Pilger’s article:

    https://wolfessblog.wordpress.com/2016/03/24/the-bombs-may-not-havedropped-yet-but-we-are-at-war/#comment-6785

    • Thanks Aunty and I agree about the keeping informed due to modern technology. A blessing in this age of state sponsored propaganda. Thanks for the link also, John Pilger has lots of interesting things to say doesn’t he?

      • auntyuta Says:

        Yes, dear PV, interesting things, like for instance attempting to tell the truth, as here:

        “I have been filming in the Marshall Islands, which lie north of Australia, in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. Whenever I tell people where I have been, they ask,”Where is that?” If I offer a clue by referring to “Bikini,” they say, “You mean the swimsuit. Few seem aware that the bikini swimsuit was named to celebrate the nuclear explosions that destroyed Bikini Island. Sixty-six nuclear devices were exploded by the United States in the Marshall Islands between 1946 and 1958 – the equivalent of 1.6 Hiroshima bombs every day for 12 years.

        OPINION: The Revolutionary Act of Telling the Truth
        Bikini is silent today, mutated and contaminated. Palm trees grow in a strange grid formation. Nothing moves. There are no birds. The headstones in the old cemetery are alive with radiation. My shoes registered “unsafe” on a Geiger counter.

        Standing on the beach, I watched the emerald green of the Pacific fall away into a vast black hole. This was the crater left by the hydrogen bomb they called “Bravo.” The explosion poisoned people and their environment for hundreds of miles, perhaps forever . . . . “

      • It’s truly disgusting what our so called governments do behind and in front of our backs. I’ve lost a brother to a brain tumour a year ago and the brother a year older than him has had his leg amputated due to a tumour – they were born in the 50’s. We used to wonder about Maralinga causing a lot of cancer but the Marshall Islands are also in the neighbourhood……

      • auntyuta Says:

        I am so sorry about all this what happened to your brothers.

      • Thanks Aunty xx There is so much cancer in the world and no-one’s ever held to account for all the needless bomb testing that went on back then.

  2. tubularsock Says:

    That was brilliant and should be yelled from the mountain tops BUT ahhh, what time is the game on? Oh, and Tubularsock just must play Pokemon Go right now. Can this all wait?

    Thanks Poli.V ……. great post!


Leave a Reply

