Poli.V

Social Commentary, Activism, Humanism

Advice Please? March 21, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Poli-V @ 10:31 pm
Tags: , ,

Greetings friends and fellow wordsmiths!

I just need some input here please.

I’ve been paying for my wordpress domain name for a few years now and I’m beginning to wonder why?

This time when the notification came, I thought I might just let it go. Presuming it’ll just go back to the old address I had before I began to pay – thepoliticalvagina/wordpress.com I think it was.

When I began this blog, I didn’t pay for quite a long time. Some part of me was stoked with myself at creating such a cool blog name or something but I didn’t understand (and still don’t) the benefit of paying for a domain name.

The emails I recieve from WordPress, say my followers wont find me if I don’t have the http://thepoliticalvagina.com/ address. Is this true?

I’m kind of ready to move on from this name and begin another but I don’t want to lose touch with the lovely people who come to visit and comment.

There are a couple of reasons.

1. Once upon a time, I myself was squeamish about the word “Vagina” – so when I began this blog it was my attempt to face that squeamishness and to challenge others and understand just why people are?

2. Vagina’s and politics is so ……..(I’m struggling to express here)

3. Some people are still offended and embarrassed if I comment (OK one person in particular, an old school friend) and my blog name is there in their comments. I wanted to make a statement not embarrass or hurt people.

Do you pay for yours?

If so why and can you tell me the benefits please?

I’ve got six day before I run out of time to pay.

What will happen if I don’t?

Will you still find me?

 

6 Responses to “Advice Please?”

  1. mboki_m Says:

    If you make up your mind to shift my advice is for you start a new blog before those six days ends.
    Inform your followers about the new address by email and comments with a link to new site.

  2. Jeff Nguyen Says:

    I love hearing the back story of how your blog name came to be. It definitely stood out to me the first time I came across it.

    Unfortunately, I don’t have much helpful to offer as far as paying for a domain name. I do pay for mine every year but have wondered what would happen if I didn’t. I think there’s a way to redirect readers to your new blog site if you set one up but I’m not sure what it is. It looks like I’ll be sticking with my blog name for awhile. 🙂

    • Yeah Thanks Jeff, it’s not like it’s a huge amount of loot. I guess I’m just ready for an energy change or something? The name came about from a conversation I was having with someone at the time and I just blurted it out and thought to myself hey that’s a good name for a blog. I’d been entranced with the idea of having a blog for quite a while before I actually started this one.
      When I organised those marches I was interview by radio, TV and newspaper and referred to as a ‘blogger’ which to be honest I was quite chuffed by! Though I am still yet to write (publish) much of my own content and don’t consider myself in the league.
      I love the name of your blog by the way. 🙂

  3. tubularsock Says:

    Tubularsock has his domain name held by Domain.com and pays yearly something like $13.00. I also pay WordPress $8.00 a year for their routing service. Because when I came to WordPress I was coming from Mac’s iWed and to keep things easy I route it through Domain.com.

    Anyway the bottom line from my understanding is that having your domain name guarantees that your domain name can not be used by anyone else. Now “thepoliticalvagina.com” is your property sort of speak and only you can use it. That is what you are paying for. Someone could use “the politicalvagina. edu or .net or .whatever the others are but no one except you can use .com for your name.

    Tubularsock likes the political vagina name because it jumps out at you but using Poli.V makes it easy to write.

    Before WordPress as I said I used Mac’s iWeb but it was not an open community of blogger as WordPress. I had an email list of my followers but iWed didn’t promote the website. WordPress does and there is an interconnection that I have found useful.

    I have the free WordPress with no storage or theme add ons. When I get close to the storage limit I’ll just remove the past years (no one looks at them anyway) and keep it free. I also PDF each of my posts and store them for my own work history but that is just to keep a record.

    Well hope this helps and good luck.

    Tube


Leave a Reply

