Poli.V

Social Commentary, Activism, Humanism

Sheryl Sandberg on Equality May 31, 2013

Sheryl Sandberg on Equality

Thought I might as well post the article link where I sourced the quote from. 

I particularly liked where she emphasized the importance of equality in the domestic front and the effect it has on children and therefore society as a whole.

If children are happy and well adjusted, so in fact should our community be. 

What man ….or woman would not want that?

Equality is healthy, don’t we want a healthy world?

 

*please note; by publishing this story on Sheryl Sandberg does not mean I agree with everything she says but merely to reference where I sourced my quote from. I dig the quote but I don’t necessarily agree with everything she stands for and in fact hold some reservations.

 

2 Responses to “Sheryl Sandberg on Equality”

  1. tiffany267 Says:

    Thank you for sharing. I like the message that you are working to send, and I agree that domestic work is often viewed as beneath men rather than something everyone should be participating in. However, the article makes me very suspicious – I wouldn’t say Ms. Sandberg is wrong, but I might challenge the graduates a little more strongly.

    I’m not very familiar with Sheryl Sandberg, but as the COO of Facebook, she is participating in a company that has infamously censored the image of a woman’s flat tattooed chest for no reason other than claiming it shows breasts and is therefore obscene, yet has no trouble hosting images uploaded by rapists showing the evil acts they have committed.

    In the same vein, I find it extremely troubling that her feel-good speech seems to assert that equality is in reach, if only women “believe in themselves, raise their hands, sit at the table, take risks and support each other. They need to overcome their fears.” Um, lots of women do that, and they are still harassed, discriminated against, abused, and treated as religious scapegoats, all around the world. Did the woman in El Salvador who is likely to die from a dangerous pregnancy she was not allowed to terminate just need to believe in herself a little more?

    Many times, ambitious, talented women simply are ignored, or the credit goes to a man. Just read any history book, and you’d get the notion that women have sat on their hands for most of the past two thousand years.

    And do the women who don’t believe in themselves deserve to be treated as subhumans? I’m all for self-esteem, believe me, and I do think we all could use more of it, but I feel that Ms. Sandberg is basically saying girls just need to try harder and be leaders and inequality will just go away. My opinion is that women often don’t believe in themselves because of so many negative and morally judgmental messages they receive (which men typically do not receive).

    As far as men, sure I agree with her that men need to be “encouraging female peers in the workplace and doing their share in their homes”. That’s wonderful. But I don’t feel that she really calls on them to do the hard part of renouncing masculine privilege, fighting for women’s health and political rights in the Islamic world, volunteering at a rape crisis center (or even Planned Parenthood for that matter), etc.

    As I said, I’m a big advocate of believing in yourself, not sacrificing your life to others, and striving for success. I think girls and women especially could benefit from that message! However, I’m just not so naive to believe that this is going to solve everything.

    Thank you again for sharing, and I hope my thoughts are considered as an addition to the discussion, not as an attack. I hope you will (please!) share more articles with us!


Leave a Reply

