Poli.V

Social Commentary, Activism, Humanism

“A truly equa… May 31, 2013

“A truly equal world would be one where women ran half our countries and companies and men ran half our homes. ” Sheryl Sandberg

My favourite quote for today!

 

6 Responses to ““A truly equa…”

  1. Jeff Nguyen Says:

    Timothy Leary, β€œWomen who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.”

    In a sane world, it would be men who have to prove themselves able to balance work and home/family life since women passed by them laps ago.

    • This is the thing Jeff, women and I can only speak for myself here but other woman may agree with me…..

      It is not the seeking of being equal to a male but being ‘treated’ as equal and having the same rights.

      It’s a natural confusion that exists in men and I guess woman also. It’s “Equal Rights”, not being equal to or the same as a man.

      I by no means seek to become a quasi man nor do I wish to be a venerated ‘princess’.

      Good ol’ Timothy Leary, he’s right in his own way.

      • Jeff Nguyen Says:

        You are far more eloquent on this topic I am, I knew I was in over my head when I commented. You’re right that equality and equal rights are used interchangeably with little thought to their intent. I agree that it’s shameful that it’s even up for debate whether women should be both treated as equals and have the same rights.

        Headed back to my own blog, to remove foot from mouth…:-)

      • Aw Jeff, I’m sorry I didn’t mean to do that to you. Your point was valid and you are equally eloquent! I however have a chip on my shoulder, no actually it’s a bit of a log πŸ™‚

      • Jeff Nguyen Says:

        No worries, I have the same reaction when I talk about Monsanto. One of the things I appreciate about blogging is the perspectives it has opened me up to. I learn as much from others as (hopefully) they get from me.

        I really appreciate all of your support at my blog and always look forward to your writings. πŸ™‚

      • Boooo Monsanto!
        Yes I do enjoy the learning and sharing aspect of blogging too. I rate your blog way up there and really enjoy and am inspired by everything you write. Thank you for your support also Jeff. Blogging is really like a world community isn’t it?
        We are so far apart but not so far in mind, thought and spirit.


Leave a Reply

